aproposluther – An interactive art installation on the occasion of the anniversary of Reformation

aproposluther

WHAT’S PLANNED?
Through individual stations references are made to its hospitable dinner parties and the basic ideas of the Reformation.

WHEN?
From 21 September 2017, the installation will be accessible to visitors at the Konstantin Basilika Trier.

Project

AproposLuther was initiated by the Trier University of Applied Sciences by Professor Daniel Gilgen. The project was concepted and realised by an interdisciplinary team of students from the departments of design (Intermedia Design / Architecture) and Informatics.

On the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the beginning of the Reformation, the interactive installation offers its visitors a total of five stations, the opportunity to playfully deal with the life and work of Martin Luther. Thereby, the core ideas of the Reformation movement are also examined in detail and brought into a current context.

The project is supported by the “Evangelischer Kirchenkreis Trier” (EKKT). In addition, it is one of the selected EU projects with cross-border value funded by the INTERREG program.

From 21 September 2017, the installation will be accessible to visitors at the Konstantin Basilika Trier. On 24 September 2017 (Sunday), the Reformation Festival of the EKKT will conclude the installation.

Opening hours

21. – 24.09.2017

Thursday 21.09:
} 11 am – 6 pm
Friday 22.09:
} 10 am – 6 pm
Saturday 23.09:
} 10 am – 6 pm
Sunday 24.09:
} 11:30 am – 6 pm

Concept

AproposLuther deals with both the person and the work of the reformer. Through the individual stations a references are made to its hospitable dinner parties and the basic ideas of the Reformation.

The installation is implemented on the square in front of and in the basilica, with the larger area inside. The two areas are connected virtually on both sides of the facade by a projection.

The installation architecture symbolizes, as a consistent form, the influence of Martin Luther’s work on the events of the past centuries – from the Middle Ages to the Modern Age. Out of the form, different rooms and levels arise at different heights. Five stations encourage the visitors to interact with the subjects of the Reformation in an interactive and playful way.

At the entrance of the installation, inside the basilica, the visitors will receive a digitally enhanced playing card – the Luther[Card] – with which they log on to the individual stations and become part of the installation. A certain color on the card assigns each visitor to one of four game groups.

The games are designed in a way that one person from each group takes part in each round. This concept is based on the principal that you get to interact with other visitors, regardless of their social, ethnic or religious background. A respectful and open interaction with each other is encouraged, because the visitors have to agree with each other and are rewarded within the games by a community experience.

Thus AproposLuther is not only a bridge to our modern digital era, but also stands for a peaceful intercultural meeting in the sense of the Reformation movement.

aproposluther – eine interaktive Installation zum Reformationsjahr

aproposluther

WORUM GEHT’S?
Eine interaktive Installation in der Konstantin-Basilika in Trier, die sich mit dem Leben und Wirken Martin Luthers beschäftigt.

WANN?
Ab dem 21. September 2017 wird die Installation an und in der Konstantin-Basilika Trier für Besucher/innen zugänglich sein.

Projektbeschreibung

AproposLuther wurde von der Hochschule Trier durch Professor Daniel Gilgen (Medienräume) initiiert. Konzept und Realisation erfolgte durch ein interdisziplinäres Team aus Studenten der Fachbereiche Gestaltung (Intermedia Design / Architektur) und Informatik.

Anlässlich des 500. Jubiläums zum Beginn der Reformation, bietet die interaktive Installation ihren Besucher/innen an insgesamt fünf Stationen die Möglichkeit, sich spielerisch mit dem Leben und Wirken Martin Luthers zu beschäftigen. Dabei werden auch die Kerngedanken der Reformationsbewegung näher beleuchtet und in einen aktuellen Zusammenhang gebracht.

Gefördert und unterstützt wird das Projekt durch den Evangelischen Kirchenkreis Trier (EKKT). Außerdem zählt es zu einem der ausgewählten EU-Projekte mit grenzüberschreitendem Mehrwert und wird im Rahmen des INTERREG Programm Großregion maßgeblich finanziert.

Ab dem 21. September 2017 wird die Installation an und in der Konstantin Basilika Trier für Besucher/innen zugänglich sein. Am 24. September 2017 (Sonntag) bildet das Reformationsfest des EKKT den Abschluss der Installation.

Öffnungszeiten

21. – 24.09.2017

Do. 21.09:
} 11 – 18 Uhr
Fr. 22.09:
} 10 – 18 Uhr
Sa. 23.09:
} 10 – 18 Uhr
So. 24.09:
} 11:30 – 18 Uhr

Konzept

AproposLuther thematisiert sowohl die Person, als auch das Wirken des Reformators. Durch die einzelnen Stationen wird ein Bezug zu seinen gastlichen Tischgesellschaften und den Grundgedanken der Reformation hergestellt.

Die Installation wird auf dem Platz vor und in der Basilika umgesetzt, wobei sich der größere Bereich im Inneren befindet. Die zwei Bereiche werden auf beiden Seiten der Fassade durch eine Projektion virtuell verbunden.

Die Installationsarchitektur symbolisiert als durchgängige Form den folgenreichen Einfluss von Martin Luthers Wirken auf die Geschehnisse der vergangenen Jahrhunderte – vom Mittelalter bis in die Moderne. Aus der Form heraus ergeben sich unterschiedliche Räume und Ebenen in verschiedenen Höhen, die als fünf Stationen die Besucher/innen dazu animieren, sich interaktiv und spielerisch mit den Themen der Reformation auseinanderzusetzen.

Am Einlass der Installation, im Innenbereich der Basilika, erhalten die Besucher/innen eine digital erweiterte Spielkarte – die Luther[Card] –, mit der sie sich an den einzelnen Stationen einloggen und so Teil der Installation werden. Eine bestimmte Farbe auf der Karte weist jeden Besucher einer von vier Spielergruppen zu.

Die Spiele sind so konzipiert, dass pro Runde jeweils eine Person aus verschiedenen Gruppen teilnimmt. Dieses Konzept basiert darauf, dass man mit anderen Besuchern/innen „an einen Tisch kommt“, unabhängig ihres sozialen, ethnischen oder religiösen Hintergrundes. Ein respektvoller und offener Umgang miteinander wird dadurch gefördert, denn die Besucher müssen sich untereinander absprechen und werden innerhalb der Spiele durch ein gemeinschaftliches Erlebnis belohnt.

So schlägt AproposLuther nicht nur die Brücke zu unserer digitalen Neuzeit, sondern steht auch im Sinne der Reformationsbewegung für eine friedliche interkulturelle Zusammenkunft.